Black listing IMEI numbers from Enrolling

Black listing IMEI numbers from Enrolling

Hi,

We decommission old devices off the Soti server.  We wipe, unenroll and delete them.  We need to stop these devices from being enrolled again or with permission from an administrator.  Is this possible.

Regards,

5 Answers

Order By:   Standard | Newest | Votes
Raymond Chan | posted this 09 June 2020

Your issue sounds interesting.  The rule filters of Add-device-rule do not support blacklisting of device based on IMEI.

 

However, under normal circumstances, a wiped and deleted device won't be automatically re-enrolled back to your MobiControl server upon bootup after device-factory reset.  So, there does not seem to have a need to filter out devices based on IMEI or other property.  If you really have such problem, please elaborate your situation, and provide the brand, model, firmware version and device-platorm/mode of your devices to be decomissioned.

 

  • 0
  • 0
Martin Doyle | posted this 09 June 2020

Hi Raymond,

Thanks you for the prompt response.

It is unlikely that they will automatically re-enroll.  The issue is the device that is decommissioned is replaced with a new one.  The old devices are then handed back to the user as a personal device.    The concern comes in that they can request the service desk to re-enroll it into the business and use it again.  Ideally, we need a way to stop old IMEI's being re-inrolled unless authorised.  this will cut down on the need to track old devices.  

 

Devices are CAT's and Datalogic's

  • 0
  • 0
Raymond Chan | posted this 09 June 2020

You probably need to make a feature request to have some IMEI blacklisting implemented in add-devices rule or some server global settings.

 

Before that is available, one possible approach is to write a program to use various  REST API calls to read IMEI of device enrolled and send a delete action request if the device is on the blacklist.

 

  • 0
  • 0
Martin Doyle | posted this 09 June 2020

Hi Raymond,

Thank you for the assistance.  I will give it a try.

Regards,

  • 0
  • 0
John Doe | posted this 10 June 2020

You could set your enrollment rules to Strict Re-Enrollment and then move the Decomissioned Devices in something like a quarantine or "Decomissioned" Group and not delete them afterwards.

When done correctly, if the device gets re-enrolled it still should be visible in the "Decomissioned Group" for Helpdesk to know.

Kind Regards John

  • 0
  • 0

Give us your feedback
Give us your feedback
Feedback