Correct user permissions to ONLY send messages

Correct user permissions to ONLY send messages

We'd like to add the ability for some non-techincal users to ONLY send messages to Android+ devices. I have been playing with user permissions for a couple hours now and can't find a way to give them to ability to send messages without also having the ability to accidently delete, un-enroll, etc. devices. Either they can't see the dvices at all or they have too many permissions. Is there a way to accomplish this goal of ONLY having the send message function?

SOTI v14.2

TC70 (Lollipop) and TC70X devices (Nougat)

Thanks

5 Answers

Order By:   Standard | Newest | Votes
Raymond Chan | posted this 05 December 2018

Congratulations!  You've just found a bug on MobiControl v14.2.0!   I did a quick test on permission control a moment ago, and confirmed that the web console UI does not hide what should have been hidden on the device view based on your requirements.

 

I suggest you to open an official support case with Soti support team.

  • 0
  • 0
Zachary Taylor - Tech Support Engineer II | posted this 05 December 2018

Glad  to hear I'm not crazy. I will do so, thank you.

  • 0
  • 0
Raymond Chan | posted this 05 December 2018

I've checked further.  It's doable in v14.2, though the interface is not as clean as in the case for v13.4, in which all disallowed actions are totally removed from the GUI.  On v14.2, disallowed action items are shown, but the final button to initiate the action is made inactive in each case.

 

The required permission settings are as follows:

  Global permissions : enable only "MobiControl Access", "Web Console Access" and "Configure Devices/Device Groups"

  Device-Group permissions  :  enable only "Send Action Commands", "Send Messages" and "View Groups"

 

 

You can still contact Soti support to see if the UI can be refined to totally hide the disallowed action items on the device view.

  • 0
  • 0
Raymond Chan | posted this 06 December 2018

Hi Zachary,

In my previous post, I have clarified that it is a UI design setback compared to earlier versions and not a bug, and given details on what should be configured to allow sending messages only.

 

To avoid audience of this forum from getting misled, I must point out what you showed in your screenshots set something more than merely allowing sending messages as said in your discussion topic.  Rather, profiles can also be revoked, assigned and possibly edited.

  • 0
  • 0
Zachary Taylor - Tech Support Engineer II | posted this 06 December 2018

Yeah for some reason I received no email about your reply yesterday or I would not have added anything further. I understand one of the screenshots has a "checked" check box which gives full control, but explain that is incorrect in the text. I will delete my post so as to not add confusion.

  • 0
  • 0

Give us your feedback
Give us your feedback
Feedback