Revoke Profile without Removing App

Revoke Profile without Removing App

I am in the process of testing v15.3 before in our test environments.

 

One thing that I noticed as a change from my v14.1 environment is that when you assign a profile you no longer have the ability to set the option to have the application remain on the device after a Revoke of the profile. 

This option has been important in the upgrade of the SOTI agent and VPN clients as I did not have to worry whether any configurations would be lost on upgrade or in the case of the VPN, that the VPN got deleted if profile was accidently revoked.

Am I missing something? Has this functionality just been moved or has it been completely removed?

Thanks,

Jim

3 Answers

Order By:   Standard | Newest | Votes
Matt Dermody | posted this 09 April 2021

I just checked the options on a 14.x server and it appears to be the same set of options organized under "Package Options". Based on that I think this would only affect the un-application of Packages and not the un-application of non-package based settings. 

 

  • 0
  • 0
Jim J | posted this 09 April 2021

Matt, 

I agree with you about the Ghost profiles. I was looking to do something similar with the Cell APN that we are having manually set when our devices are provisioned.

It looks like SOTI is handling profiles without packages differently and the option is not available. 

I can handle this by sending MX to the device. I was just surprised that it was missing, but as you have shown it is there when you add a package. 

 

Thanks,

Jim

 

  • 0
  • 0
Matt Dermody | posted this 09 April 2021

I admittedly do not like using that option because I like to be able to see what Profiles are actively applied and not worry about keeping track of any "ghost" Profiles that were maybe once applied.

 

With that said, the option is still there:

  • 0
  • 0

Give us your feedback
Give us your feedback
Feedback