Unassigned profile without removing the application.

Unassigned profile without removing the application.

Hi, We are using Android+ devices and one of a profile has been made not correctly as other profiles. If I unassigned a profile, I can see that application is removed from the lockdown menu. How can I avoid that? I would like to find a way to unassigned this profile and keep the application on the lockdown. On other profiles, I can unassigned them and keep application in the lockdown menu. I also need to know which feature make this behaviour? I think it's on package studio, on "Do not uninstall the file when profile is deleted". But I'm not deleting the profile, I just unassigned it, don't know if it's the same.

Thanks for your help.

9 Answers

Order By:   Standard | Newest | Votes
Raymond Chan | posted this 05 December 2019

I used the the following approach  in the past, but it may not work any more for your MC server. So please check it out on a spare test device first.  Steps are as follows:

1. Create in Package Studio a new .pcg package with a different package name from your problemaic one, and have the "Do not uninstall the file when profile is deleted"  option checked;

2. Clone your profile to a new one, and replace the problematic package in the new profile with the new one created in step 1;

3. Assign the new profile created in step 2 to the same device as the old problematic profile;

4. Unassign the old problematic profile from the device.

 

  

If the above doesn't work in your test device, and your intention is just to modify parameter(s) of other payload(s) deployed with the old profile, then do the following:

1. Clone your profile to a new one, remove the problematic package, make your required changes in remaining configuration(s)s/package(s), and assign it to the same set of devices(s)  as the old profile.

2. Edit the old profile and remove everything except the problematic package, and assign this updated profile as before.

 

 

  • 0
  • 0
Farid.S | posted this 05 December 2019

Hi Raymond,

In step 2 you mean that I have to clone profile which delete my application when I unassigned it, right?

If yes, ok I clone this profile and after that should I have to replace the package inside by the new one?

Regarding the name of profile which has been cloned, should I have to rename it with same name as old profile or I can choose any other name?

 

In facts, I have the following:

Profile 1, Profile 2, Profile 3, Profile 4.

Problem is on Profile 1, I can unassigned profile 2, 3 and 4 without any issue, application will stay on Lockdown contrary to the profile 1.

Inside these 4 profiles, there is the same application with different version updated.

  • 0
  • 0
Raymond Chan | posted this 06 December 2019

In step 2 you mean that I have to clone profile which delete my application when I unassigned it, right?    ANS : YES

If yes, ok I clone this profile and after that should I have to replace the package inside by the new one?    ANS : YES

Regarding the name of profile which has been cloned, should I have to rename it with same name as old profile or I can choose any other name?  ANS : USE ANY OTHER NAME

 

 

Are your four profiles "Profile 1, Profile 2, Profile 3 & Profile 4" four successive versions with the same set of payloads except for the application of interest?  Or do they have different payload configuration combinations? 

 

In any case, if they are all targeted to the SAME device(s),  all I can say is that it is not a good practice to have conflicting payload(s)/package(s) targeted the same device.

 

  • 0
  • 0
Farid.S | posted this 06 December 2019

Hi Raymond,

 

When I clone profile, should I keep all boxes checked? Even Assignment Criteria?

 

See in picture more details, first profile 2.4.0rc3 higlighted in yellow must be unassigned but this one is removing the app if I unassigned it.

Current version of the apk installed on device is TEPV 2.4.0rc6.

I tested to unassigned profile 2.4.0rc3 but unfortunately application included inside profile 2.4.0rc6 has been removed from the app.

All other profiles, include the same app with versions updated.

 

  • 0
  • 0
Raymond Chan | posted this 06 December 2019

What configuraiton-payloads/packages in profile TEPV 2.4.0rc3-191700925 that make you think you need to unassign it from the device?

Are such configuraiton-payloads/packages also present in all the other three profiles?

From your description, I assume you have  TEPV 2.4.0rc6 installed on the device, and you want to keep this version on the device.  Am I right?

 

 

  • 0
  • 0
Farid.S | posted this 06 December 2019

Yes, exactly.

I need to keep only last profile which is installed on devices and which is Tepv 2.4.0rc6.

All other profiles contains old versions of same application. I can't give you more details regarding payloads, maybe I will have to ask developper of the app. But just for information that's the same application, differences between profiles are just updates.

  • 0
  • 0
Ravikant Mishra | posted this 10 December 2019

Hi Farid, the solution you looking for is a tick box while assigning the package profile. At assignment page , go to Options tab and untick "Uninstall package contents upon profile revocation or deletion". This way application installs on devices as persistent and when you remove profile, delete, un-assign application doesn't get uninstalled from device.

 

  • 0
  • 0
Raymond Chan | posted this 11 December 2019

Hi Farid,

Since you have deployed  profile TEPV 2.4.0rc3-191700925 witht the wrong option and you don't want to have the app uninstalled (possibly to avoid loss of application data),  this erroneous profile (with at least the app package part) has to stay deployed INDEFINITELY.

 

Just in case you have other profile payload(s) assoicated with this profile, and you want to have some of the parameters in those payload(s) modified, you have to migrate those payloads to your TEPV 2.4.0rc6-191700925 or later version.  Make sure you have the new TEPV app package created with the right option as shown in Ravikant's screenshot.  

  • 0
  • 0
Farid.S | posted this 11 December 2019

Hi Ravikant,

If I uncheck "Uninstall package contents upon profile revocation or deletion" from the profile that I want to unassigned.

 

 

And then If I assigned it to all devices, and then unassigned this profile from all devices, I will be able to keep the application on the lockdown?

I didn't expect that "revocation or deletion" means also "unassigned"....

 

In all profiles, we used to keep this box checked, and when we unassigned an old profile, we don't have a problem of application deletion from Lockdown.

  • 0
  • 0

Give us your feedback
Give us your feedback
Feedback